Rumours

Chewing Gum: Unfortunately it’s true that some chewing gums contain animal-derived glycerin)

Envelopes: Happily, it turns out that the sticky stuff used to seal envelopes is usually synthetic!

Heinz Catsup: Although natural flavor should generally be avoided because they may include animal products, Heinz has confirmed that their natural flavors are free of animal ingredients. Of course their corn syrup is probably genetically modified (and a threat to Monarch Butterflies), but that’s another story.

Maple Syrup: The U.S. Vegan Society has confirmed that animal fat is no longer generally used in the processing of maple syrup.

Postage Stamps: Have been confirmed to not use animal-based glues.